Create Collaborative Inbox within Gmail

To send communications from email addresses other than your own, you will need to set up a collaborative inbox. Once it is set up, you can assign users who then have permissions to send and manage conversations. A common example with our clients is to set up an internalcomms@company.com inbox to send out branded communications. 

Members of a collaborative inbox can:

  • Take a conversation they volunteer to respond to.
  • Assign responsibility for a conversation to another group member.
  • Mark a conversation as complete, duplicate, or no action needed.
  • Search for conversations according to resolution status or assignee.
Create Group
  1. Sign in to Google Groups.
  2. In the upper left corner, click Create group.
  3. Enter information and choose settings for the group.
    Settings reference.
  4. Click Create group.
  5. Wait a few minutes for your new group to become active before sending a message to it. Otherwise, you might get a notification that your message couldn't be delivered.
  6. (Optional) Next steps: Choose advanced settings for your group.
Turn on Collaborative Inbox Features

To enable Collaborative Inbox features, you must turn on conversation history. For details, see Turn conversation history on or off.

  1. Sign in to Google Groups.
  2. Click the name of a group.
  3. On the left, click Group settings.
  4. Under Enable additional Google Groups features, select Collaborative Inbox.
Assign Permissions

For users to take advantage of Collaborative Inbox features, group owners or managers must give them the correct permissions:

Task Permission Required
  • Take a conversation
  • Assign or unassign a conversation
  • Mark a conversation as completed

Who can Moderate Metadata

  • Mark a conversation as duplicate
  • Mark a conversation as no action needed

Who can moderate content

Have more questions? Submit a request